In the movie, A.I., Steven Spielberg tells the story of sophisticated robotic humanoids in the late 21st century that are designed to emulate thoughts and emotions, and serve humanity. While we are currently in the early years of the 21st century, we not quite to the point of the technology portrayed in A.I., but with the latest advancements in robotics and artificial intelligence, we’re moving in that direction.

The purpose of an assistant is to make life easier by handing off time-consuming, nagging tasks to the assistant so you can focus on what’s important to you in your busy professional and personal lives. But not everyone can afford a human assistant. They can be expensive, require benefits, and time off. A cost-effective alternative is to use an Intelligent Personal Assistant (IPA), which is “…a software agent on mobile devices that integrates user input, localization capabilities, and access to information from a variety of databases in order to carry out services for individuals,” (“Emerging Technology: Intelligent Personal Assistants”).

Below is a sample of some of the functions Google Now can perform:

google_now

Image source: http://intelligentpersonalassistants.blogspot.com/

Braina, an IPA with powerful artificial intelligence, learns from voice commands, “It isn’t just like a chat-bot; its priority is to be super functional and to help you in doing tasks. You can either type commands or speak to it and Braina will understand what you want to do,” (https://www.brainasoft.com/braina/).

Below is an example of Braina learning a correction to a file path and then opening the desired program:

braina

Image source: https://www.brainasoft.com/braina/open-command.html

Braina’s feature list is long, but here are a few that I see could help me be more efficient at work or at home:

  • Dictation: Convert voice into text in any website or software program in 40 different languages.
  • Conduct searches: Use voice commands to quickly find information on search engines such as Google, Bing, or Yahoo.
  • Open and search files, folders, programs and special locations: How much time have you wasted trying to find that file with your notes, or information in a file, or a website that you forgot to bookmark?
  • Take notes: After commanding Braina to conduct a search, I can use it to take notes for me, which I can then import into my word-processing or desktop publishing program of choice.
  • Alarms and reminders: Braina can monitor my calendar while I’m away from my desk and remind me of that important meeting with my subject matter experts.

But how can Braina remind me of something if I’m not in front of my computer? Easy. There’s an Android app for Braina that allows me to interact and control my computer from my smartphone using a WiFi connection.

With the evolution of modern IPAs, that future of seamless interaction with artificial intelligence as portrayed in A.I. is a little closer than once thought. Pardon me while I step away to get a fresh beverage. While I’m gone, I’ll have Braina research a topic, take notes, and prepare a draft for my next blog.

